Skip to main content

Meet Angela, Our Girls Inc. Extern!

angelaWe’re super excited to have Angela Duran on board for the next month as our summer extern! The Girls Inc Eureka! Program is a five-year college-bound program that encourages girls to participate in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) and sports. During the third year of the program, the girls complete a four week externship to get hands-on experience in the professional world.

Entering her second year at Carpinteria High School, Angela is excited to be a member of the volleyball team and band. Here at Dowitcher, she’s already proven to be a quick learner and dedicated worker. During her first week, she took a few minutes to answer some questions about herself:

What are your plans this summer?

I plan to take drivers education. Also I’d like to do some more community service, but I’m not quite sure where yet. I was hoping to take a class at SBCC but I think I’m too busy for that this summer.

What’s your favorite subject in high school?

Math has always been my favorite subject throughout school.

How long have you been a part of Girls Inc and what is your favorite aspect?

I’ve been part of Girls Inc since kindergarten. My favorite aspect of Girls Inc would be how much they push girls towards STEM. They helped me realize that women can do jobs like that too.

What is your dream job or career?

My dream career is to be a head of a video game company

Do you have any pets?

I have two adorable cats. Their names are Danny and Cali.

thumbnail-6     thumbnail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you could go on vacation anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I would love to visit Japan. The little culture and food from Japan has really interested me. If I could go I would like to visit the giant, lively city, Tokyo.

What do you like to do in your spare time? Extracurricular activities? Hobbies?

I’m a bit of an athlete. I run, play on the high school volleyball team, and have done martial arts for 6 years. As for hobbies and such, I’m a nerd, and proud of it. I play video games, watch anime, and collect random pop culture merch. I also enjoy doodling, and using my laptop.

What would you like to study in college?

I’d definitely like to study math, graphic design, computer science, and game design in college.

If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

If I was only allowed one meal for my entire life I would have to pick sushi. It provides a good mix of carbs, proteins, and other nutrients. Plus I just really like sushi.

Do you have a favorite type of music?

I’m generally flexible with any type of music except for rap. I don’t really like that. Music you would find on my playlists are upbeat, or have piano and or violins playing in the background.

Aside from necessities, what’s one thing you could not go a day without?

I tried thinking of something else, but with society as it is today, I really don’t think I can go without my phone. Since I’m so busy it’s a tool I use to to stay in touch with people.

If you had to describe yourself in five words, what would they be?

Five words to describe me would be, creative, independent, friendly, hardworking, and random.

Welcome to the team, Angela!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *