Skip to main content

Meet our Girls Inc Extern, Tahis!

We are thrilled to welcome an extern through Girls Inc Eureka! program again this summer!  Eureka! is a 5 year college-bound program for girls in 8th through 12th grade. Along with monthly meetings, the girls attend special field trips and participate in unique programming each year.  During the summer of the third year, the girls complete a 4 week externship with a company to get some hands on experience in the work world.

This year we are lucky enough to welcome Tahis Alcantar to our team.  She is bright and creative, and adds a fun teenage energy to our team!  Tahis answered some questions during her first week to help us get to know her better:

IMG_4687What are your plans this summer?

My summer plans are to complete this externship with Dowitcher, hangout with my friends and family, plan for my 15th birthday in Mexico, go to Mexico and throw the best Quinceañera ever!

What’s your favorite subject in school?

My favorite subjects in school are math, English, history, and art. I enjoy English and art because they allow me to be creative and use my own ideas. I like math because I’m good at it and understand the equations and problems. I enjoy history because I’m interested in the past and I want to learn what people from past lifestyles were like.

How long have you attended Girls Inc and what is your favorite part?

I have attended Girls Inc since 6th grade and so far my favorite parts about the program are being able to meet new, interesting people and being part of all the amazing opportunities. For example, I have gone to the Radio Disney Music Awards, hotel events about girls, waterpark openings, colleges, and participated in many more amazing activities, like this externship.

What is your dream job or career?

I have a variety of dream jobs, which are to become an astronaut and be the first person on Mars, be a congresswoman, become a successful artist, or be a CIA agent.

What’s your favorite color?

I don’t have one particular color of interest, but I do have a handful of favorite colors. I like royal blue, light purple, white, gold, pink, red, black and green.

What are your plans for college and what would you like to study?

My plan is to get accepted into an Ivy League school and I’m still not sure what I would like to study, there are so many choices!

Do you have any pets?

I have had a lot of pets in the past, but right now I have a dog named Estrella – she is a lovable, energetic Husky and a Chihuahua named Manchas who is aggressive to strangers and friendly to family.

What’s your favorite extracurricular activity?

My favorite extracurricular activities are art, track (I hurdle), golf, cooking, Interact club, and now ASB (I’m treasurer for my class).

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

If I could travel anywhere in the world I would go to Italy because I love the food!

Do you have any hobbies?

My hobbies include sleeping, eating, and being on social media.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *